changing pants and shows

I remember the very first pair of jeans that I liked so, so much. I wore it to the VBS graduation, to trips downtown, at school events. I wished I would stop growing so I could wear those cool sky-blue jeans forever. I was 9 then.

I once declared with unflinching conviction that I would never ever give up Tom & Jerry and the other cartoon shows. Afterall, they’re so much more fun and colorful to watch than movies and shows with real people who just talk and talk. I was 10.

Thankfully, some childhood wishes never come true, and some boyhood convictions are altered. Now when I sense in myself a resistance to positive change, I think of those sky-blue jeans and Tom & Jerry. And how silly it is to hold on to old things when things grander and more wondrous are just a decision away.

Leave a Reply

