feeling old – and wise?

It’s a Saturday well spent. I just got off the LRT purple line – my first ride alone along that route – from a speaking engagement at a church in Sta. Mesa. I spoke to a high school group of about 20 kids (just the youth group staff and officers), about public speaking and emceeing. I had fun with them. They were a very generous audience. But I wonder now if they learned a thing or two or perhaps i overdid the humor and the incessant laughter drowned any chance for learning? I feel I could have done better, but I’m happy with how things went. At least nobody dozed off on me! Hehe…

I panicked temporarily when I realized that some of them are the age of my nephew! Whew. I am getting old. Some of my examples were met by puzzled stares. Time to brush up on youth pop culture. To think that only several years ago I didn’t have to deliberately do this! Hehe… And, oh, did I mention that one of the pastors (in his 30s by my estimation) mistook me for someone older? It must be the height, he said. Sure 🙂 Well, I don’t feel bad about it. All in all, it was a pleasant experience. I realized I miss ministering to the youth.

It is quite getting boring here in the belly of the large fish. If you know what I mean…. 😉 Time for sandwich and iced tea here at Figaro-Gateway. Thankfully, there’s a wifi signal spill-over from a nearby hotspot. Ahhh…

Leave a Reply

