interior decorating

Welcome to this heart of mine
I’ve buried under prideful vines
Grown to hide the mess I’ve made
Inside of me, come decorate, Lord

Open up the creaking door
And walk upon the dusty floor
Scrape away the guilty stains
Until no sin or shame remain

Spread Your love upon the walls
And occupy the empty halls
Until the man I am has faded
No more doors are barricaded

When I was attending a training conference in Colorado Springs in March 2005, there was this CCM (Contemporary Christian Music) artist who performed one morning during the host publisher’s devotion time. I’ve never heard of Shaun Groves in the Philippines. Michael W. Smith, yes. Steven Curtis Chapman, I’m a huge fan of. Steven Green, I sang his songs effortlessly (until puberty hit). But Shaun Groves, no bells ringing.

Nothing was showbiz or fancy about Groves that one might expect of music celebrities (yes, even “Christian” ones). In his street clothes and out-of-bed hair, he could easily pass up for a university dude. He talked about his music and his life; how his songs were born out of his study of Scriptures and grappling with faith issues. His music and his stories made sense to me, even gripping me with their honesty and rawness. Took a video of him performing, using my PDA (I’ll have to scour my archives for it).

Here’s a vid of Shaun performing “Welcome Home,” one of his earlier hits. I’ve been playing the song over and over lately, making the words my own prayer. (When the melody gets a little tricky and the notes soar beyond my range, I just recite the words πŸ™‚ ) May God speak to you through this song.

Take me, make me all You want me to be
That’s all I’m asking, all I’m asking

Check out Shaun Groves’s blog.

2 Comments

  1. Hey Igsuon,
    Great song. Its very timely for me after the past week of concentrated prayer. I think I just went through major house-cleaning inside me. But is always great to be reminded that I need to do that house-cleaning every so often–that the Lord may be welcomed properly. Love the song.

    a week of concentrated prayer, wow! I need that badly and soon, gypsy. what struck me about the song is that the Lord was not welcomed as a passive guest in the heart-house; he would actually do the cleaning! ‘scraping away the guilty stains, until no sin or shame remain.’ when I look at my messy heart, i can try to re-order, re-arrange, maybe dust the furniture a bit – and at best, my efforts would still end in a mess. the real cleansing, the transforming overhaul is done by God. i only need to let him in. amazing grace! πŸ™‚ sillyserious

    Reply

Leave a comment