way back into sanity

I’ve been hiding all my hopes and dreams away/ Just in case I ever need ’em again someday/ I’ve been setting aside time/ To clear a little space in the corners of my mind/ All I wanna do is find my way back into love/ I can’t make it through without a way back into love/ O-oh-oh!

[Repeat forever.]

I’ve been… trying to ignore it for the past hour! But one of my neighbors – down in the first floor from the sound of it – seems determined to permanently imprint Way Back Into Love into the psyche of all residents in this four-storey apartment building! This saccharine tune from the movie Music and Lyrics has been playing in loop mode for the past hour or so. Imagine that!

Don’t get me wrong, I like the song. I think it’s cute and hearfelt. I even have the lyrics memorized (go ahead, laugh). The first few times neighbor played it this afternoon I happily sang along. Somewhere between the hundredth and thousandth repeat, I was humming…

On the millionth time it played, I started to feel the urge to break something. Anything.

But because I am a firm believer that violence is never the answer, I resort to blogging for release. Having to listen to a song, no matter how beautiful or cool, played 2.5 billion times is nothing short of torture. I’ve never loved a song so obsessively as to turn it into a hypnotic mantra by my repetitive playing and/or singing, and in so doing irk someone bad enough that he must blog to avoid resorting to violence… (Let me catch my breath.)

Fine. Maybe I do need to find my “way back into love.” But, hey, don’t rub it in this way!

Arrggh! It’s still playing.

UPDATE | Monday 9.41AM

Just about to shut down comp (it’s running Ubuntu now!) and leave for a meeting in Ortigas (i’m running late!). Guess what neighbor is playing again… Ibang level na ‘to!

4 thoughts on “way back into sanity”

  1. Ung music is really just for you…you see, the whole world is conspiring to get you back to love 🙂 hehe 🙂 usap tayo ule soon.

  2. natawa ako dito! haha 🙂 recently ko lang napanood ang music & lyrics on (you guessed it) pirated DVD, and natuwa naman ako sa movie, even though hindi masyadong click ang drew-hugh tandem for me. i like them both though, but they’ve pulled off much cuter pair-ups in their careers. hemingways, aleks recommend ka naman ng book! 🙂 something insightful, something literarily beautiful, and fictitious 🙂

  3. Nako wala yan. I remember some time ago, I had to hear the “sakto, sakto” suka jingle gazillions of time on the radio!! I almost resorted to violence…grrr..oh-oh, now am reminded, it has started playing in my head again, help!!!

  4. gyps, mish, besp – humupa na ang ‘way back into love’ sa building namin. now it’s the carpentry work of two neighbors (one on each side of our unit) that is driving me nuts! boink.

Leave a Reply

