reading list

I’ve cluttered my bedroom (and part of the living room) with my new books–none of which I bought, except for one. I hope to finish them all in the next month or so, as they all seem to be interesting reads. Here’s the rundown:

Jack’s Notebook by Gregg Farely. The subtitle says it all: “a business novel about creative problem solving.” I don’t usually read business books, but this one’s pretty interesting. Gave me some good insights to ponder when I read it while having a late lunch at McDonald’s today. The fiction isn’t bad either.

Skin by Ted Dekker. Dekker made my head spin with Thr3e, had me catching my breath with Blink, made me teary-eyed (yeah,yeah) with The Blessed Child, and then confused me with Saint. The last book had engaging portions, but the entire plot left much to be desired, methinks. But I am not giving up on the guy just yet; that’s why I have his newest work, Skin, by my bedside.

A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23 by W. Philip Keller. I’ve heard preachers allude to this work, and I’ve skimmed through the spin-off devotional book. Now it’s time to read it for myself. I’m excited to discover the richness of meaning that a modern-day shepherd can elucidate from perhaps the most well-known chapter in Scriptures.

Creative Nonfiction: A Manual for Filipino Writers by Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo, and its accompanying Reader. These are gifts from Ram, a friend who’s taken masteral courses in creative writing at UP. He’s leaving for the US next week to take part in a three-month training conference with the Navigators. I am keenly interested in the creative nonfiction genre (a discovery I made after reading all of ten pages of the “manual” just this afternoon!). These textbooks should help put some “science” into my writing.

Chasing Daylight (formerly titled Seizing Your Divine Moments) by Erwin McManus. I’ve been plodding through this book for at least one month. It speaks to me on a very personal level, so that I have to read it slowly, almost as if I don’t want to reach the last page.

So there. Blogging about my reading list should help me remember to shut down Kierk (my computer) more often so I can retreat to good, old-fashioned book reading. I like to read when it’s raining (that is, if I’m not sleeping); maybe I’ll be able to turn more pages now that the rains have come.

2 thoughts on “reading list

  1. yah bro.. reading while it’s raining is a fave treat for me too… just happy that the rainy season is finally here. Mcmanus’ books are pretty much a seller here too…
    lynnie

    ey brenda starr! 😉 thanks for dropping by. enjoy the rainy season with ur books 🙂 sillyserious

  2. kainggi! you have time to read! wahhhh!

    im sure u can squeeze in some time into ur sched too, jen! i know someone who reads in the shower – wraps her book in plastic… i can’t imagine that. 🙂 sillyserious

Leave a Reply

