tagged: desktop capture

Gypsy tagged me–ages ago, it seems. Here is my belated response.

The tag calls for a posting of one’s desktop image. So here is a snapshot of how my desktop looks like when it rotates as a “cube.” I’m running Ubuntu (Gutsy Gibbon edition) with its oooh-some eye candy πŸ˜‰

The desktop on the left has my blog site on Firefox, while the right shows an episode of Heroes. The cube can be rotated on command. The Mac-like dock with the icons at the bottom are courtesy of an application called Avant Window Navigator (awn). Linux is cool! But XP runs faster still, at least on my computer. The mileage, I hear, varies and there are some tweaks that improve performance. The wireless issue of Ubuntu on my machine has been resolved with the recent update, so I have found myself booting onto Ubuntu more than XP. Maybe one day I’ll wean myself off of XP? Who knows.

But I digress…

Anyhoo, here are instructions for this tag:

Upon receiving this tag, immediately perform a screen capture of your desktop. It is best that no icons be deleted before the screen capture so as to add to the element of fun.

You can do a screen capture by:

  1. Going to your desktop and pressing the Print Scrn key (located on the right side of the F12 key).
  2. Open a graphics program (like Picture Manager, Paint, or Photoshop) and do a Paste (CTRL + V).
  3. If you wish, you can edit the image, before saving it.

For MAC users: Press [ Apple] [ Ctrl ] [ Shift ] and [ 3 ]

Post the picture in your blog. You can also give a short explanation on the look of your desktop just below it if you want. You can explain why you preferred such look or why is it full of icons. Things like that.

Tag five of your friends and ask them to give you a Free View of their desktop as well.

And I tag everyone who wants to share the view from their desktop! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “tagged: desktop capture

  1. Cool! I am sure you were just waiting for somebody to tag you on your deskstop–so you can show off your cool, rotating cube thingamagig! Hehe…

    hahaha! let’s just say it was a welcome tag πŸ˜‰ thanks ha! sillyserious

  2. is the cube thingy and the Compiz Fusion thingy the same thingy? I know there are too many thingies in that questions but what the heck.

    swipe, the compiz fusion thingy is the linux app that’s responsible for the cube thingy – and other cool 3D thingies! compiz fusion is already built-in with ubuntu-gutsy gibbon πŸ™‚ try the ubuntu thingy out! πŸ˜‰ sillyserious

  3. uy… ako naman pa-help sa blog design ko! πŸ™‚

    sure, jen! πŸ™‚ i’m not an expert though, but i’ll see what we can cook up. ask beng na lang for my email ad πŸ˜‰ sillyserious

  4. Hullo, er, Alexander. =)

    Ready for a stupid quetion? Here goes: how does one submit to Inquirer’s Youngblood section? And is one paid well in the event her/his article gets published? Thanks. =)

    hi! not a stupid question at all. what i did was email my article (pasted onto the email and not attached as a doc) to youngblood@inquirer.com.ph and feedback@inquirer.com.ph. in the subject field, i put “For Young Blood: .” i also included the word count at the top of my email, and then a short writer’s bio at the end. don’t forget to include your contact details. there is a contributor’s fee that you claim at their office. it’s a decent amount. but the reward really is in getting published. πŸ™‚ sillyserious

  5. Hi I got published in Youngblood too, but they didnt tell me that I’d get published, and never told me anything about contributor’s fee…Do I go to the office? Im just curious, how much did you get? email me franxeng@yahoo.com

    hello! congrats on getting published! they don’t tell you if or when you’re getting published, and they occasionally release an announcement under the youngblood column for contributors to collect their check at their office πŸ™‚ i suggest you call up their accounting department. πŸ™‚ sillyserious

Leave a Reply

