missing hymns

All the way my Savior leads me;
What have I to ask beside?
Can I doubt His tender mercy,
Who through life has been my Guide?
Heav’nly peace, divinest comfort,
Here by faith in Him to dwell!
For I know, whate’er befall me,
Jesus doeth all things well;
For I know, whate’er befall me,
Jesus doeth all things well.

I grew up in a church that sang hymns. Accompanied by an old piano with some dead keys (an even older church organ was reserved for special occasions), I sang along with elder people who didn’t look at the hymn book for the words or the notes—they knew them by heart.

It’s sad that many worshipers today find hymns boring. They deem the language too deep and old, the melody too strange and slow. They prefer the repetitive words and pop-sounding beat of contemporary choruses. I like some of these modern songs too, but not in the same way that I love hymns. There is so much literary beauty and depth of insight in hymns that have time and time again brought me to tears. Oh what joys are missed by those who have shrugged off the classics!

These days I find myself longing to be transported back to the church pew of my childhood, the dog-eared maroon hymn book in my hands, my voice joining in harmony with a hundred others.

I wish they would sing more hymns at church this Sunday. I won’t mind if they don’t jazz it up with a modern tempo or lavish instrumentalization. A capella would be fine too. Just give me good ol’ hymn-singing.

It’s the kind of music my heart longs for these days.

6 thoughts on “missing hymns”

  1. When we sang “Fairest Lord Jesus” during the staff devotion last Wednesday, it was like a spring that watered my dry heart. My heart just swam in the sweetness of the song. I guess I miss singing good ol’ hymns too…

    yes! felt that way, too, dap 🙂 more hymnssssss! sillyserious

  2. Hi, there, kindred spirit. Our pastor and I were just talking about the differences between the gospel songs today and the hymns of old. There is no comparison, really. And it isn’t true that hymns are old-fashioned and outmoded. You’re not old (very young, in fact) and you love hymns. So there.

    and there are more like me! 🙂 i think that, given the opportunity, many young people will appreciate hymns. they just need to get past their biases. 🙂 sillyserious

  3. You are so right. When I think of my favorite Christian songs, they all turn out to be hymns! Like Come Thou Fount, My Savior’s Love and Amazing Love. But more than hymns, I miss good ol’ solid exposition!!! *sigh*

    ‘come thou fount of every blessing’ is definitely on my fave hymns list! 🙂 ‘oh to grace how great a debtor daily i’m contrained to be; let thy goodness as a fetter bind my wand’ring heart to thee.’ as for expository preaching, u may want to hop over to john piper’s site, desiringgod.org 🙂 sillyserious

  4. we sang jesus paid it all today. so good!

    i started singing the hymn when i read ur comment! ‘jesus paid it all, all to him i owe; sin had left a crimson stain, he washed it white as snow.’ ahhh, powerful truth. sillyserious

  5. I’m not so familiar with hymns but I love those praise and worship songs 🙂 Anyway I love music and I never find them boring especially when in church.

    good for u, verns! 🙂 speaking of music, i’m trying to upgrade my playlist these days. hehe… sillyserious

Leave a Reply

