i sing

I had the opportunity to sing with co-workers at a conference this afternoon. I love singing, but I will be first to admit that I’m just an average singer. No false humility there. Truth be told, my range isn’t impressive at all, and I have trouble with harmonizing. But I love singing – did I say that already? – and I consider it a privilege to, once in a while, be given a chance to sing for God’s glory.

We did a medley which was actually a reprise of the opening number during our company’s 50th anniversary last month. Accompanied on guitar by Arnold, Gladys and I sang My Redeemer is Faithful and True (Steven Curtis Chapman) and In Christ Alone (Brian Litrell – yes, of the Backstreet Boys fame). I chose the songs and did the arrangement. The words are so powerful and meaningful to me it takes quite an effort not to choke on them.

Here are my favorite lines:

As I look back on this road I’ve traveled,
I see so many times He’s carried me through;
If there’s one thing that I’ve learned in this life:
My Redeemer is faithful and true

***

Oh, I could stop and count successes
Like diamonds in my hand
But those trophies could not equal
To the grace by which I stand…

It’s very rare for me to like a song without first being moved by its words. I’m a lyric person, more than a melody person. Many times God has spoken to me powerfully through a song that stops me in my tracks in the most unusual of times and places. When praying seems difficult, I call on a song to help me pour out my heart to God.

What would life be without music… What would music be without a God so wonderful to sing to and sing about…

I could burst into song any minute now.

 

 

 

One thought on “i sing”

Leave a Reply

