quitting

When I was nine or ten, my father would ask me to recite the poem, “Don’t Quit,” in front of our house guests. I would oblige, without needing to be asked twice, because I knew that after my bombastic recitation, I’d be a few pesos richer. It became my little fund-raiser, that long poem.

It took years before I started to understand the poem which I had so easily memorized one lazy afternoon (oh, the feats young, healthy brain cells can do!) To this day, I can still recite most of the poem from memory. I’ve had to use it to encourage myself and give me perspective during times when I feel like giving up. It hasn’t always worked though. I live with the memories of my share of quitting moments–some which, in hindsight, now seemed like a wise decision, while some I still regret to this day. Thank God we need not be defined by our poor decisions and moments of weakness. For even for quitters — especially for quitters! — God offers grace and hope to stick it out yet another day.

(Don’t worry, I’m not quitting this blog marathon… At least not just yet.)

4 thoughts on “quitting

  1. 25 days to go… kaya yan! we will wait for you at the finish line! para treat mo kami! bday mo na kasi!!! :- )

    whew! *hingal* thanks, jen πŸ™‚ it was nice to see u earlier sillyserious

  2. Hahaha! You got me here…I really thought you were quitting! Whew! ..and what do you mean “not just yet”? Uy, walay quitter nga taga-Davao ha! Hala sige!

    woohoo! yes, ma’am! πŸ˜‰ sillyserious

  3. Rest if you must but don’t you quit! πŸ˜€ I remember reciting this poem while doing some push ups sa CAT. hahaha. Thanks for the insight kuya. Inspiring indeed!

    that’s the poem! πŸ™‚ sillyserious

Leave a Reply

