three-oh

While reviewing my journal, I came across these words that I had written around this time last year, before I turned 29.

In a week’s time I’ll be one year short of thirty.

Three-oh… my goodness! One more year as a twentysomething before I become known as a twentysometimeago. Why, just yesterday I was 24, then suddenly tomorrow I’m 30?! Reality sure does biteβ€”and what sharp teeth it has! I’m still recovering from the shock. Every time I shake my head in denial, it bites me harder. Rabid reality.

I had to laugh at my over-reaction to turning the decade bend. Now that I am actually in my big three-oh, it really isn’t so bad. Not bad, at all. Yesterday, I woke up smiling. Looking at my reflection in the mirror I said, Dude, buckle up! It’s gonna be one adventure-filled decade! Or words to that effect—I self-talk in gibberish sometimes.

* * *

When my mom celebrated her 67th birthday last month, she called it another “promotion” from the Heavenly Big Boss. Yesterday was my turn to get “promoted” to my 30s.

I decided to take the day off to ponder this, my new “promotion” into another decade. I packed an overnight backpack and went away to spend some time in solitude—to pray, talk to myself, reflect, and write in my journal.

Before you get visions of a lone figure glowing in spiritual enlightenment, let me confess that the time I spent actually praying and writing was a grand total of two hours, probably less. I slept through most of the afternoon. Then I binged on Yellow Cab pizza and Coke Zero, sang my heart out, talked to myself and God intermittently. When I finally mustered enough momentum to sit my restless thirty-year-old self down, I turned my Bible, hoping to receive something special from the Author of the Book and of my life.

In his mercy, He did speak to me in an unmistakable and special way. My response was soaked in tears and wordless prayers. I unwrapped His lavish gifts of hope, promises, even rebuke and restoration.

Happy are people of integrity,
who follow the law of the Lord.

Oh, that my actions would constantly reflect your principles!
Then I will not be disgraced
when I compare my life with your commands.

Your word is a lamp to guide my feet
and a light for my path.
I’ve promised it once, and I’ll promise it again:
I will obey your righteous regulations.

PSALM 119:1, 5-6, 105-106 (NLT)

* * *

This post concludes my blog marathon. Sorry if I stopped to catch my breath more times than I would have wanted. But thank you for sticking it out and encouraging me with your interaction πŸ™‚ Wherever you are in life’s “promotions,” may you take time to celebrate the faithfulness and love of the Life-Giver!

 

5 thoughts on “three-oh”

  1. hey leks, its always an amazing experience anoh, being able to hear from God who can choose to be silent, but then have given us the chance to hear from HIM. i must say isa kang pinagpala. =)

    ur right. being 30 is not that bad. after all, i’m in my 33rd. i seem ok, seemingly. hehehe. HAPPPY BIRTHDAY! BELATED!

    amazing is the right word πŸ™‚ thanks for the greeting, memsky! πŸ˜€ sillyserious

  2. Ending the blog marathon already?! But you owe us several posts! I’ll miss checking bloglines for new posts. Anyway, happy for you on this “promotion.” Have a wonderful 30th year, Aleks.

    the marathon may have ended, but surely not the blogging πŸ™‚ thanks, beng! sillyserious

  3. Uy! Happy birthday! hope you liked my advanced gift! hehehe.. sana natawa ka : -)

    thanks, jen! natawa nga ako sa gift mo! πŸ˜€ thanks mucho! now every time i breathe in my office i remember you! sillyserious

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY PAPA ALEX! πŸ™‚

    You’re an inspiration! I loved your blog marathon project. You gave me an idea, actually many ideas. Basta, share ko na lang sa’yo pag nakapag-kape na tayo. πŸ˜‰

    Blessings!

    thanks, lj! glad my little blog marathon spawned many ideas for you πŸ™‚ onga, may kapihan pa tayo! soon πŸ™‚ sillyserious

  5. we will miss your day to day entries, leks.. hehe. dalas dalas naman daw sana kahit wala ng birthday na inaabangan. unless you want to have a blog marathon for the next year. hihi

    one-year marathon? di kaya ng powers! hehe… will try to blog more regularly though, sunshine πŸ˜‰ sillyserious

Leave a Reply

