back with a mac!

And I’m back! Apologies for the silence, friends. Been awfully busy (therefore, blog-lazy). There’s one thing though that I won’t apologize for: this silly grin on my sillyserious face. It’s been on for days now. And it’s all because of a gadget dream come true. I finally succumbed to a long-time want (it isn’t a need, I concede) of gliding my fingers on my very own Mac computer!

Sometime last week I abandoned caution and risked going hungry for the next year or so when I broke open the piggy bank (proverbial) and squandered a small fortune (literal) on a MacBook. Before the fateful purchase that reduced me to a grinning pauper, I had been visiting this computer shop at the mall to gawk at the shiny white gadget on display. I was a bit embarrassed that the lady manager recognized my face the day I came by to buy.

Di ba kayo po ‘yung kahapon, sir? (It was you who came by yesterday, wasn’t it? Yup, that’s moi. And the day before that too. And other days before that when I “just happened” to swing by and drool at the Mac on display. I joked that I had to sell a carabao to get enough cash for the purchase.

The past few weeks have been very busy at work preparing for and doing the Book Fair. It’s just now that I’m finding the time to get to know the new gadget–and each session brings with it new discoveries! I’m trying not to gush too much here…

Now I just need a cool name for this shiny white new laptop. I’ve named its predecessors after philosophers–Hobbes and then Kierk (short for Kierkegaard). I’m open to suggestions. Humor me while I still have this silly grin.

9 thoughts on “back with a mac!”

  1. Whitey nga! πŸ™‚ It might not be a philosopher’s name but it’s so apt. After some time, when it has succumbed to the ravages of time and dust, you can call it DW (short for Dirty Whitey). πŸ˜‰

    Happy for you, Aleks. I hope I can switch to the “other side” someday too.

    “whitey” gets two votes?! good thing this is not a democracy! haha πŸ˜‰ sillyserious

  2. aha! a mac convert! congratulations kuya aleks!

    a name, a name…. WHITEY! (not exactly a very well-thought name, but it could work :p)

    haha! sounds like it yelps, barks, and has pulgas! πŸ™‚ sillyserious

  3. huwaw! congratulations for a dream come true! finally, you won’t be needing tissue paper (for the drool ;p) every time you visit a gadget store. hehe…

    okay lang ba kung ang vote ko din e ‘whitey’? haha!

    oh yes, i remember u were with me in one of my drooling excursions to cyberzone πŸ˜€ sillyserious

  4. gusto mo ng modern day philosopher? someone with white hair…Ravi Zacharias! And you can call it Zak for short (or Rabs).

    hmmm… i like the zound of zak πŸ™‚ sillyserious

  5. So the name doesn’t sound ordinary, call the thing PUTI. But if you don’t like it, here’s an alternative: IMMACULADO. Ayan!

    HAHA! nice one, niko! πŸ˜€ sillyserious

  6. “oh, my! Oh, my!”
    was all i could say…oh my!
    another thing to say: “i’m getting one when i become “billionaire.” hehhehe..might as well kidnap steve jobs, don’t you think?LoL!!!!

    ey jops! musta? kidnapping the apple top man might be too extreme – try nabbing his arch rival! πŸ˜€ sillyserious

  7. Wooo. About the carabao, joke ba talagaaa??? Hehe. Welcome to the club, convert! πŸ™‚

    kambing talaga binenta ko, pramis! haha! and i’m lovin’ the world of mac so far – sold goat and highly probable starvation notwithstanding :p sillyserious

  8. PS. You have to get one of these magic scrubs I’m using. It keeps my keypad and trackpad shiny white even without the rubber iskin. πŸ˜‰

    I vote for Zak πŸ˜‰

    magic eraser? check! bought one over the weekend. works wondersss! πŸ™‚ any thoughts on casing? crystal? invisible shield? πŸ™‚ i’m warming up to “zak” as the name of me macbook… sillyserious

  9. When will I be able to lay my hands on Zak’s siblings!

    So that is the reason why you are so “helpful” in producing PT’s reflections.

    If my calculations are right, 2 years worth of:
    – salary
    – starvation
    – and sanity

    would just be right for Zak’s good looking brother.

    My turn to drool.

    I’m happy for you but…miserable for me. :((

    envious much! πŸ˜€

    hey magz! macbooks are a blast! and i think the brother is contemplating getting one. naku, malakas yun manalangin! magpadamay ka na sa prayer request! πŸ˜€ sillyserious

Leave a Reply

