bravo, housemate!

One of my housemates is a senior voice major at the UP College of Music. Since Ervin joined us in the apartment a few years ago, I have had to resort to reciting psalms in the shower instead of belting out hymns. Hehe. Ervin is a very gifted singer, but he is more than his powerful and impressive voice; the dude’s a really nice fellow, lighthearted and very humble.

A few weeks ago we all got excited for him as he told about a possible guesting at the Kapuso Network. Turned out he would be singing the finale with Kyla at the launch of GMA’s newest, high-tech studio.

His voice recital had to be re-scheduled to accommodate the guesting. In the midst of juggling preparations for his recital and rehearsals for the TV guesting, Ervin asked me if I would design his recital poster. I was all too glad to help because, well, I am a good housemate—okay, maybe I was also eager to see Zak the MacBook in action with Photoshop. I missed his recital because of my Hong Kong trip, but I heard it went well. Now I wasn’t going to miss his TV debut.

The GMA 7 event, which actually happened last Oct 17, was aired just last night. I poured myself some orange juice (Minute Maid—with real orange pulp!) and waited for the finale. Ervin is in Bacolod for the semestral break, so when his bit finally came on, I just texted him, “Telegenic!” No reply. I’m sure he was flooded with text messages from all his friends (and fans!). Tonight I got a Yahoo message from a mutual friend, with a link to a YouTube upload of Ervin’s number. (Nothing escapes YouTube!) Watching it the second time gave me goosebumps. Here it is. Enjoy!

That’s mah housemate! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I better get his autograph before he becomes more famous ๐Ÿ˜€ I wonder how it felt to hold Kyla’s hand and have her sing while staring deep into your eyes…

3 thoughts on “bravo, housemate!

  1. watched this on TV last Sunday, and my gulay! goosebumps galore! nung sa church sya kumanta, bilib na bilib na ko eh! tas ngayon mega-mega as in super na! meron na ba syang fans club? magsa-sign up na ko! waaaaaaaaaaah! pa-autograph naman sa housemate mo! hihihihi ๐Ÿ˜‰

    sure, P500 lang! hehe… ๐Ÿ˜€ sillyserious

  2. wow kuya housemate mo yan? hahaha. galing *clap, clap*

    ya, matagal-tagal ko rin tinrain yan… haha! ๐Ÿ˜€ sillyserious

Leave a Reply

