moving to adulthood

My sister Liza once said that you know you’re already a grown-up when you start spending more time in the home and grocery sections rather than the clothes section of the department store.

That made little sense to me in my twenties. After all, I never really spent a lot of time in the clothes section. Clothes shopping was—and still is—a chore, something I must do because I am not a nudist. I’d rather tarry where the shiny cool gadgets are, drooling over the latest electronic wonders and coveting high-priced technology.

For the life of me, I couldn’t imagine being torn between a microwave and an oven toaster; a pre-packed bag of mixed greens and a naked ball of lettuce; a blanket and a comforter. I had been content being fed by McDo, Jollibee, and Pizza Hut delivery. A homemade salad meant red egg and my housemate’s extra tomatoes. And my greatest sleep luxury was keeping company with two pillows whose cases seldom matched the bed sheet.

That was then.

Last weekend I finally made the great move—from sharing an apartment with housemates to living by myself in a small space just a stone’s throw away from work. Don’t get me wrong; I lived with great housemates, and we got along fine. (We had an unspoken rule about cleaning the house: he who can’t stand it should clean it. And, oh boy, the things we could stand!) But I just felt it was my time to move on. Besides, the overloaded MRT commute and the taxi rides had become a daily assault on my sanity (the former) and on my wallet (the latter). I longed for solitude, and I was getting weary of traversing EDSA.

The rent at the new place is quite challenging. But my Excel worksheet tells me I could pull it off if I cut down on gimik (mostly eating out) and other little luxuries. That means I will have to learn to manipulate edible matter, also know as “cooking.” Gulp.

These days I roam the home and grocery sections more often. And I’m finding it quite an adventure. Being a grown-up isn’t so bad after all.

15 thoughts on “moving to adulthood”

  1. Halu! i know you will have a great adventure! I do envy your walk to your workplace! πŸ˜€ happy shopping… at the grocery store!

    hey, jen! thanks… i’m enjoying the walk so far. ask me after a month. hehe…sillyserious

  2. House warming na!!! Sagot ko pizza πŸ˜€

    naku, magandang incentive ‘yan! hehe… πŸ™‚ sillyserious

  3. Wow, aleks, congrats on two counts: moving to your own place and going back to blogging. Hehe…I am in my own place (but I still go to the clothes section and my pillowcases still do not match my bedsheets) but still needs to do the second one…;P

    thanks, gypsy! πŸ™‚ waiting for ur return to blogging… sillyserious

  4. Game na, party na tayo sa bahay mo.:) Pero bago yun, mag house registry ka. Make a list of things you still don’t have and then the guests can opt to give them to you as gifts. πŸ˜‰ In celebration of your moving on …to adulthood.

    that’s a good idea! hehe… 1. microwave oven… 2. air-conditioner… 3. car… πŸ˜‰ sillyserious

  5. Welcome to adulthood! (LOL haha ako pa daw nagwelcome e noh). San ka kuya aleks? Baka neighbors tayo? πŸ™‚

    hey, ate riz! hehe… d’yan lang ako sa tabi-tabi πŸ™‚ i’ll be sure to nudge you if i see you πŸ˜‰ sillyserious

  6. Congratulations!

    I’ve been walking to work for over a year now and I can say that it is a great feeling. Living by yourself can be quite liberating (but I still wear a shirt and shorts inside my apartment).

    I agree that clothes shopping is such a burden. I don’t shop for clothes until my current ones look too well worn and like you, I’d rather check out the gadgets.

    As for cooking, you’ll be subsisting on sandwiches and instant noodles soon enough. There are just so many websites to surf, books to read and TV to watch rather than spend the time cutting onions and crying.

    1. ah, a kindred soul! πŸ™‚ thanks for dropping by, swipe.

      it must be the novelty of living by myself that led me to attempt cooking — no tears from onion cutting yet, but, so far, there’s burnt bacon and pancakes that looked like they were used in nuclear weapon testing. i succeeded with hotdogs though. there is hope.

  7. …confused over which veggie to buy is a good habit. it wwill prevent you from overspending on groceries.

    ..groceries killed my budget last year. they can be very deceiving. heheh

    but yeah, i agree. having ur own place is good and fun. =) enjoy your new place!

Leave a Reply

