coffee praying

Still bleary-eyed, I prepped the coffee maker to produce some caffeine luv for me this morning. When I opened the cupboard I realized I’ve run out of brown sugar. Should’ve bought some at the grocery last night. I like sugar and cream in my coffee, and that probably makes me less of a coffee lover because I hear that the true-blue ones enjoy their cup black. I’m not that exciting. I like my cup sweet and creamy.

So now sipping my sugar-free coffee (thankfully I still have creamer), I take deep breaths, and shoot up half-formed prayers to my Father — for a smooth and God-honoring Book Fair run, for extra-grace for my hardworking and dedicated team, for the Great Author to be foremost today, for many people to come to our booth at the Fair, for joy as we work, for my eyes to be completely rid of all irritation, for words and wisdom for a writing project, for Daphne’s safety as she negotiates rush-hour traffic…

Somehow I rest in the thought that the little that I have, pray for, and do, when placed in the wonder-working hands of the Father, can have eternal ripples. I taste sweetness this morning not from my mug of coffee, but from the truth that my Father hears (even my random, oftentimes me-me prayers) and is at work to reveal His glory even more (even through me).

Good morning everyone.

Leave a Reply

