five things

Got tagged. Twice, actually. So, gandooze and turkangel, here are the five things you (and the other readers) probably don’t know about me…

I used to have a birth mark the size of a coin on my left (or was it right?) forearm. Now there isn’t a trace of it. How interesting is that?! Haha… Hey, don’t doze off!

I won first prize in the annual speech contests I joined from Grade 1 to 5. (I was second in sixth grade.) My father taught me a secret to combat public speaking fright: Think that your audience are all cockroaches. As in, Ipis lang sila! It did work – until I had to dissect a cockroach in college Bio. Then cockroaches ceased to be innocuous creatures to me… (Excuse me, I need to puke…) P.S. My sister hates cockroaches with so much passion she can hear them flap their wings in the night. I’m serious. (Now I’m seriously in trouble for sharing that bit about her! Hello, Chi! πŸ˜€ )

My face had skin as smooth as a baby’s butt… until freshman in college when, well, the ‘baby’ part ended and the ‘butt’ part began. I read somewhere that Butt, er Brad Pitt – yup, that hunk of a guy who snagged Angelina Jollie – has bouts with adult onset acne. I’m in good company, I know. Now if only I could find a way to earn his millions so I can buy my own dermatology clinic…

The first time I flunked a quiz (in Grade 1) was when I spelled “together” as “togeder.” My 7-year-old mind was so convinced beyond a shadow of a doubt that I spelled the word correctly; I marched to my pretty teacher to give her a piece of my brilliant mind. She was kind and gentle, so no childhood trauma for me. Of course, now I know better. I’d rader die than commit the same mistake ever again.

I pick my nose in public. Eeeew! Gross oversharing! Aren’t you relieved the tag just asked for five things? πŸ˜‰

Don’t forget to laugh heartily today, friends. Yes, even at your expense. Now those of you who haven’t done this on your blogs, go ahead! It’s funnnnn.

4 thoughts on “five things”

  1. Hahaha. I’m tempted to do my own version of 20 things and tag you so I get to hear 15 more from Sillyserious and laugh harder. You’re funny, man. πŸ˜€

  2. Thanks for dropping by, abaniko! πŸ™‚ Was in a silly mood when the five things were named… i don’t think i can give more than five and still keep a certain amount of self-respect! Hahaha! BUT, by all means, abaniko, you can go at it — 20 things we probly don’t know about ya πŸ˜‰ Will be waiting *evil grin*

  3. Am impressed with your winning 5 straight years at the annual speech contest! But what happened to High School?! Did you get relegated to the Hall of Fame?

  4. Hall of Fame? More like Hall of Shame! Haha… πŸ™‚ I do remember winning 3rd in an interschool speech contest on entrepreneurship. Good thing i was fifth to do my piece – that way, i heard how the other contestants pronounce “entrepreneur” and realized my pronunciation of the word was a bit off. Syempre ginaya ko na sila nung turn ko na! Haha! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

