friday hits and misses

I missed a day. Grrr. My Friday was so full I forgot about my blog challenge.

I took a leave from work Friday to help out at Samaritana, a Christian ministry that reaches out to “vulnerable and exploited women.” My friend Jean works as program coordinator there, and she asked me two weeks ago if I could lend a hand in the Valentines Party that she was organizing for their women. I said, “Sure ba!”

My task was to “serenade” the women with a few love songs. I’m not a great singer at all, but I do love singing. Earlier this year, I made a commitment to use the gifts that I have, no matter how meager, to serve others. And last Friday, that commitment meant singing to a group of women who have had a rough life on the streets, and who, by God’s grace, are now beginning to experience the beauty and the purity of True Love. It was my honor to serve them.

The first song was Parokya ni Edgar’s Harana. I had sung this before at my officemates’ wedding so it didn’t take much to prepare for the number. But nothing prepared me for the women’s warm (as in “blush-inducing”) reception. Good-natured cheering and screaming, flowers and handkerchiefs handed to me ala TV variety show, and smacks on the cheek had me missing my accompaniment cues! But it was all in the spirit of fun. I could only manage a joke with them afterwards, after my face had turned all shades of red: “Feeling Sam Milby naman ako nito! See you in Araneta!” Yeah, right.

The guest speaker spoke on the Five Love Languages, a concept popularized by Dr. Gary Chapman. Essentially, the idea is that there are five different ways by which people express and receive love: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Acts of Service, Physical Touch, Gifts. One’s love language is that which, when expressed by him or shown to him, meets his deepest emotional needs. It varies from person to person. So it’s possible that a wife who is showered with gifts by her husband may still feel “unloved” if her love language is, say, quality time. You can see that there’s bound to be misunderstanding, conflict, and frustration between two people who speak different love languages–unless they work at understanding and “speaking” the other’s love language.

The speaker expounded on the five, helping the women think through each one and then identify which love language is their own. As for me, I’m not quite sure what my love language is yet. I think I’ll settle for Gifts meantime. Haha. Seriously, I should read the book (which, incidentally, is being distributed by our publishing house.)

And that’s the highlight of my post-less Friday. I may have missed my post for the day, but I’m thankful I didn’t miss the chance to minister to, and be blessed by, the staff and women of Samaritana.

One thought on “friday hits and misses”

Leave a Reply

