confessions of apathy

There are ways to cope with frustration over a government that has done nothing but drag this country deeper into the pit of poverty and shame. The most popular one has been to pack and find a better life in a foreign land. Who can blame those who have taken this road? I know I don’t. Although I have thus far chosen to stay put, there is nothing noble about how I cope.

Apathy.

I’m not proud of it. And maybe writing about it is my way of finding absolution. It’s not that I woke up one day and decided I would stop caring about how the Philippines’ shameless, thick-faced leaders are ever tightening their grip around the neck of a very sick nation, choking the very life out of her for personal gain. But one can only take so much exposés by whistle-blowers, blatant self-service of so-called public servants, assassinations left and right—all assaulting the public psyche one after the other, and none finding resolution or even a semblance of justice.

Imagine the numbing effect on a citizen like myself.

But give it to our politicians to make even the most apathetic and numb flinch in disgusted awe of their ever-growing shamelessness. The other night I was enjoying my dinner of sisig when the news on TV reported that the lower house had approved House Resolution 1109  in a glaringly unconstitutional and anti-democratic move that would eventually allow the extension of the present administration’s term.

I do not claim to understand the intricacies of this political maneuver. The Palace-dwelling beneficiary of the move by administration congressmen has denied involvement. (It is disgusting how stupid they must think the public is!)  But I have to thank the House of Representatives for thawing my apathy, and for making me realize that I have, in the first place, grown apathetic.

Now I am outraged. But outrage, in itself, is unproductive. That’s why I write. That’s why I’m thankful that yesterday during our office prayer time we had the chance to pray for the issues of this country, the controversial HR 1109 and its implications included.

One cannot pray and remain indifferent. Faith and apathy cannot occupy the same space.

6 thoughts on “confessions of apathy

  1. I used to want to write in my blog about what I think would be the best solution for the Philippines… but I realized that trying to think of a way to “fix” the country is way beyond my comprehension, given my understanding that its not just a matter of corruption, over population and poverty… but rather its all of that wrapped up in a vicious cycle. Rather than waste grey matter I decided to just pray to God for a solution during my nightly prayers…nice to see that I’m not alone in this more worthy endeavor 😀

  2. welcome back to the blogging world! so it took the plight of our nation to cpr your blog life, ey? 🙂 good piece, aleks. as always.

Leave a Reply

